Ski and Snowboard Australia (SSA) today announced the nominees for three categories in the lead up to the annual Australian Ski & Snowboard Awards to be held on 1 May in Melbourne.

20 athletes are nominated across the athlete, para athlete and junior athlete of the year categories following standout performances during the last 12 months. 

Australia’s best snowsport athletes will gather in Melbourne for SSA’s award night celebrating the outstanding achievements of Australia’s athletes and para athletes on the world stage.

SSA’s Chief Executive Officer Michael Kennedy says the night is a unique opportunity to bring the whole community together in celebration of a wonderful 12 months on snow for the sport.

“Just 12 months on from PyeongChang, our athletes have once again demonstrated their extraordinary ability on snow with terrific results across all levels and disciplines. The highlight from a major event perspective was undoubtedly the various FIS World Championships.

“The Awards is a wonderful night celebrating the athletes and bringing the community together as a whole. I encourage all snowsport supporters and fans to come along, get your tickets online and join us in the celebrations,” he said.

2019 Athlete of the Year

Louis Muhlen-Schulte (Alpine Skiing)
Sami Kennedy-Sim (Ski Cross)
Jessica Yeaton (Cross Country)
Jakara Anthony (Moguls)
Matt Graham (Moguls)
Laura Peel (Aerials)
Scotty James (Snowboard Halfpipe)
Cameron Bolton (SBX)

2019 Para Athlete of the Year

Melissa Perrine & guide Bobbi Kelly (Para Alpine)
Mitch Gourley (Para Alpine)
Ben Tudhope (Para Snowboard)
Simon Patmore (Para Snowboard)
Shaun Pollard (Para Snowboard)

2019 Junior Athlete of the Year

Louis Muhlen-Schulte (Alpine)
Doug Crawford (Ski Cross)
Darcie Morton (Cross Country)
Cooper Woods-Topalovic (Moguls)
Valentino Guseli (Snowboard Halfpipe)
Emily Boyce (SBX)

In addition to the above categories, award winners and recipients will also be announced for, Outstanding Achievement, Coach of the Year, Para-Wintersport Coach of the Year, and Development Coach of the Year.

Scotty James wins his third FIS World Champion title