Nominees for Australia’s snowsports Athlete of the Year announced

Laura Peel, Australian aerial skier. Photo supplied.

It’s that time of the year, the Snow Australia Awards and the Australia Athlete of the Year announcement.

The country’s best Winter Olympians, FIS World Cup athletes and snow sport competitors will gather in Melbourne on April 29 after a challenging 12 months of competition due to Covid-19 restrictions.

The coveted Athlete of the Year will be awarded alongside Junior Athlete of the Year, Coach of the Year (Olympic and Paralympic Disciplines) and the Outstanding Achievement of the Year Award.

Award nominees

Nominees for Athlete of the Year have been announced across Olympic and Paralympic Disciplines.

Greta Small (Alpine Skiing)

Sami Kennedy-Sim (Ski Cross)

Phillip Bellingham (Cross Country)

Laura Peel (Aerials)

Matthew Graham (Moguls)

Tess Coady (Snowboard Slopestyle/Big Air)

Scotty James (Snowboard Halfpipe)

Jarryd Hughes and Belle Brockhoff (Snowboard Cross)

Ben Tudhope (Para Snowboard)

Snow Australia CEO Michael Kennedy says the night is a unique opportunity to have the snow sport community together again and celebrate great achievements.

“Our athletes have risen above the challenges, demonstrating their extraordinary resilience and abilities on the world stage, with terrific results across all levels and disciplines,” said Kennedy.

“The Awards are a great milestone to celebrate the performance and achievements of our Australian athletes, with the 2022 Winter Olympic Games less than 300 days away.”

Fashion Critical's hilarious review of The North Face X Gucci colab

Rachael Oakes-Ash is the name behind @misssnowitall and the founder of A long time travel and lifestyle journalist and ski writer, she's been published in ESPN, TIME, Wallpaper*, Action Asia, Inside Sport, Australian Financial Review, Emirates Open Skies, Conde Nast Traveler and more. She was the Fairfax snow blogger from 2007 to 2017 and the Southern Hemisphere editor for OnTheSnow. Rachael is also a documentary producer, author, radio announcer and humorist.